How My Garden Grows in August ~ Part 2

Yesterday, I shared with you the first half of my garden, beds 1-9. (If you missed it, check out Part 1.) Today, I’ll share with you the rest of my garden (beds 10-20) – in all its mid-summer struggles. Be sure to click the links included so you can see how each bed looked last month.

BED 10 – Fallow

I pulled all the string beans a few weeks ago (click here to see how the bed looked last month), and now the bed is lying fallow, awaiting brussels sprouts and kale.

Bed 10 in August ~ Fallow, waiting for brussels sprouts & kale

Bed 10 in August ~ Fallow, waiting for brussels sprouts & kale

BED 11 – Snap beans (second crop)

Last week I planted a second crop of Black Valentine green beans and Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans. Yesterday, the day after I took this picture, the beans started poking through the soil. It’s hard to believe I had carrots in this bed last month.

Bed 11 in August ~ Snap beans

Bed 11 in August ~ Snap beans

BED 12 – Peruvian peppers & ruby chard

You can’t see the chard in this picture because it’s in the back of the bed. In fact, you can barely see the rocoto peppers because the lemon drop peppers are so large and laden with fruit! Look at how much they’ve grown and how many peppers are on them now since last month.

Bed 12 in August ~ Peruvian peppers & ruby chard

Bed 12 in August ~ Peruvian peppers & ruby chard

BED 12x – Eggplant

If there’s one thing that loves the heat, it’s eggplant. You can see how much they’ve grown since last month.

Bed 12x in August ~ Eggplant

Bed 12x in August ~ Eggplant

BED 13 – Raspberries

This variety of raspberry (Caroline) was slower to get started than the variety I had before (Heritage), but now they’re growing like weeds! The fencing we made for this bed in the spring is helping to keep the canes from flopping onto the grass. (Click here to see them last month.) And, instead of having flowers & berries only at the tips of the cane, there are clusters of flowers all up and down the canes. I love these!

Bed 13 in August ~ Raspberries

Bed 13 in August ~ Raspberries

BED 14 – Asparagus

I love my asparagus fern. And the fencing we made for this bed, too, is keeping my fern upright and pretty. Click here to see how it looked last month.

Bed 14 in August ~ Asparagus

Bed 14 in August ~ Asparagus

BED 15 – Dixie speckled butterpeas

Last month, my newly-planted butterpeas were seedlings. Now they’re overflowing the bed and sporting little bean pods.

Bed 15 in August ~ Dixie speckled butterpeas

Bed 15 in August ~ Dixie speckled butterpeas

BED 16 – Fallow

This bed has been fallow since last month. But it will soon receive carrot and beet seed.

Bed 16 in August ~ Fallow, waiting for carrot & beet seed

Bed 16 in August ~ Fallow, waiting for carrot & beet seed

BED 17 – Lima beans

My lima beans are still producing. They have slowed down due to the heat, but they’re supposed to produce until frost. Compared to last month, the beans are showing signs of heat stress.

Bed 17 in August ~ Lima beans

Bed 17 in August ~ Lima beans

BED 18 – Fallow

I just pulled my magenta orach and perpetual spinach. (Click here to see how they looked last month.) I harvested the orach seed, so I got all I could from those plants. The perpetual spinach was eaten by bugs while I was on vacation, so they were a bust anyway. This bed awaits escarole and spinach seed.

Bed 18 in August - Fallow, awaiting spinach & escarole seed

Bed 18 in August – Fallow, awaiting spinach & escarole seed

BED 19 – Peppers & peanuts

My peppers are growing on the front side of the bed, and the peanuts are taking over the rest of the bed. I had no idea how much they spread! Look at how much they’ve grown since last month.

Bed 19 in August - Peppers & peanuts

Bed 19 in August – Peppers & peanuts

BED 20 – Tomatoes, peppers & herbs

Since last month, I’ve pulled the borage, the feral cantaloupe has died, and the tomatoes have grown – and suffered some disease (see the Black Krims in the back of the bed).

Bed 20 in August ~ Tomatoes, peppers & herbs

Bed 20 in August ~ Tomatoes, peppers & herbs

Again, if you missed the August pictures of my garden set up and beds 1-9, go to How My Garden Grows in August Part 1. Next month, I’ll post pictures of my beds again, to see the changes another month brings.

How is your garden growing?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

