Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 8/4/14

You’re going to notice a little bit of a change in my postings this week because I’m taking a much needed break in all things labor related. Yesterday was my birthday (no, I won’t tell you how old I am!), and I’m spending the entire week relaxing and having fun. NO WORK FOR ME THIS WEEK! But I haven’t forgotten you guys. The changes to my site for the week are very minor. Today’s update will have fewer pictures than normal; the same goes for my Garden Bounty post for tomorrow. For the rest of the week, I’m going to share interesting articles I’ve found elsewhere on the internet, ending the week with an insight into the Sanctuary Gardener herself – moi. Next week, things will be back to normal.

WHAT’S NEW:

My asparagus started seeding a couple weeks ago, but it’s in full seed now. Some of the seed pods are starting to turn red. They look like little berries.

Asparagus seed pods

Asparagus seed pods

IN THE GARDEN:

Last week I harvested 55 ears of Glass Gem corn. I still have some more ears on the stalks that aren’t ready to harvest yet, but this is about three quarters of the harvest. I have to dry this corn for several weeks, but I can’t hang it in the garage else it would rot in the humidity. So, I’ve laid it out to dry on the table I use for germinating my seedlings.

Glass Gem corn drying

Glass Gem corn drying

A week ago Saturday, I discovered four Black Swallowtail caterpillars in my parsley. They were so tiny. Two days later (last Monday), I found three of them and they had already doubled in size! (The fourth one must’ve been hiding.)

Black Swallowtail caterpillars on curly parsley stems

Black Swallowtail caterpillars on curly parsley stems

Black swallowtail caterpillar on curly parsley stem

Black swallowtail caterpillar on curly parsley stem

I think the key lime tree my beau gave me last December is not a key lime tree. This fruit looks like a Persian lime (regular lime), not a key lime.

Key lime fruit that isn't?

Key lime fruit that isn’t?

My summer savory is growing. I didn’t think it would look like this. I guess I pictured it would be more “bushy” looking. I haven’t harvested any yet.

Summer savory

Summer savory

IN THE KITCHEN:

Remember the six pounds of surprise beans I harvested last week? I blanched them and used my awesome Ziploc vacuum sealer to get them ready to put in the freezer. I love that vacuum sealer!

Snap beans ready to freeze

Snap beans ready to freeze

I also made pickled garlic with a bunch of the garlic I harvested in June. It was a lot of work peeling all those cloves, but I believe it’s worth it.

Pickled garlic

Pickled garlic

This past week, I harvested my first Black Futsu squash. (See tomorrow’s Garden Bounty post.) I just had to cook up a couple of them to taste them right away! I think it tastes like a sweeter version of a butternut squash. There’s another flavor I tasted, but I can’t quite put my finger on it. Whatever it is, it’s yummy!

Black futsu squash

Black futsu squash

Before taking my break, I did do some harvesting in the garden. Click here to see pictures of this past week’s garden bounty.

What’s happening out in your garden and in your farmer’s kitchen?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

