Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 7/21/14

I had a lazy week in the garden this week. I think I’m so exhausted from my work week and cooking/preserving, all I did was a little pruning and the harvesting. I had good intentions for catching up on gardening chores this past weekend, but I wasn’t feeling well on Saturday, and it rained on Sunday. So, guess what I’ll be doing after work this week? Yep – my not-done-yet to-do list: fertilizing, planting string beans, foliar sprays, etc. At least my garden is holding its own. Take a look. 

WHAT’S NEW:

Back in April, I sowed various kinds of herb seeds along my front walkway. Absolutely nothing germinated. The only reason I can think of is that a couple days after I sowed the seed, we had a gullywasher of a rain storm. It must have washed the seed away. Then, in the middle of this week, I saw this one basil seedling growing where I had sown the seed – THREE MONTHS AGO! Go figure.

Emily basil seedling - 3 months after planting!

Emily basil seedling – 3 months after planting!

A few ears on my Glass Gem corn are starting to dry. This one is the most dried looking, but it doesn’t feel like there are full kernels inside. I tried to pull back the top of the husk, but it was very tight. I thought I’d wait a while longer then check it out.

Glass Gem corn ear drying

Glass Gem corn ear drying

My Dixie speckled butterpeas are starting to send up their “shoots” (the long viny things), so flowers are soon to come.

Dixie speckled butterpeas

Dixie speckled butterpeas

My raspberries are starting to flower, and this cane is starting to fruit.

Caroline raspberries fruiting

Caroline raspberries fruiting

IN THE GARDEN:

After the icepocalypse we had this past winter, I was concerned I would lose my rosemary bushes. They didn’t look healthy for a while. However, I think I now can safely say they are doing well.

Rosemary bushes

Rosemary bushes

My apple trees are growing steadily. I transplanted them last November. Here’s how my Granny Smith apple tree looks. (Click here to see how it looked the beginning of April.)

Granny Smith apple tree

Granny Smith apple tree

My Pink Lady apple tree is growing well, too – despite the aphid attack. (Click here to see how it looked the beginning of April.)

Pink Lady apple tree

Pink Lady apple tree

I lost a couple of peanut plants; they just dried up. However, the rest of my handful of plants are growing and flowering. Wish I could see what’s going on under the soil.

Peanuts

Peanut plants

One of my pumpkins is almost ripe.

Seminole pumpkin ripening

Seminole pumpkin ripening

One of the things I hate about the South is the never-ending battle with fire ants. In just a couple of days, a fire ant hill formed around one of my pots of fish peppers (and alyssum) then INTO the pot through the drainage holes! ARRGH!

Fire ant hill in my pot

Fire ant hill in a pot

In the spring, I purchased a few petunias on the bargain rack at Lowes. I brought them back from the brink and would’ve been happy if they bloomed through May. However, they are still blooming – in the heat of the summer! I’m surprised they’ve lasted this long. However, they do get shade from my house’s shadow late in the day.

Petunias

Petunias in July

My crepe myrtle trees are in full bloom. Here’s the one near my mailbox. I love this fuschia color!

Crepe myrtle tree

Crepe myrtle tree

Here is a closeup of the blossoms on my crepe myrtle tree on the side of the house.

Crepe myrtle blossoms

Crepe myrtle blossoms

IN THE KITCHEN:

I spent one afternoon making several batches of eggplant parmesan with my large eggplant harvest. I made an 13×9 inch pan of it for supper and 3 meals’ worth to freeze. All I’ll have to do is defrost and bake in the oven. Instant meal!

Eggplant parmesan ready for the freezer

Eggplant parmesan ready for the freezer

As if that weren’t enough, I had another harvest of eggplant that I pickled. I’m looking forward to trying this.

Pickled eggplant

Pickled eggplant

I did harvest several days this past week. Click here to see photos of my garden bounty.

What’s happening in your garden and kitchen this week?

Signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

