Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 7/6/14

Even though it’s been extremely hot and humid for weeks, my garden is still producing enough for enjoying right away with a little extra for preserving. (I know I’ll have harvests out my ears once it cools down a little!) This week, I harvested 14 cucumbers, 1 (almost 6 lb) white watermelon, 1 (half-pound) butternut squash, a half pound of snap beans (last harvest until I replant), almost a pound of lima beans (shelled), 3.4 pounds of eggplant, 6.6 pounds of peppers, and 19.5 pounds of tomatoes!

In the pictures, the description of the produce is listed from the top, clockwise.

HARVEST ON JULY 1:

For those who are new, my “mystery hot peppers” are from seed I was given a couple years ago. (I’ve been saving my own seed.) The lemon drop peppers are supposed to be yellow, but these fell off the plant unripe and were good enough to keep. (They still carry heat when unripe!)

Betterbush squash, Beit Alpha cucumbers,

Betterbush squash, Beit Alpha cucumbers, pepperoncini, mini red bell pepper, fish peppers, mystery hot peppers, green (unripe) lemon drop peppers, cayenne peppers, Boston pickling cucumbers. In the center: Filius blue peppers.

And the tomatoes are still coming…

Mortgage Lifter,

Tomatoes: Cherokee Purple, Mortgage Lifter, pear, Wisconsin, Riesentraube cherry, Rutgers. In the center: Amish paste

HARVEST ON JULY 2:

A good day harvesting in the garden!

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes,

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, Reisentraube cherry tomato, Wisconsin tomatoes, Boston pickling cucumber, Rutgers tomatoes, Beit Alpha cucumber, pear tomatoes, Amish paste tomatoes.

I cooked up the first batch of these butter beans after the last harvest, and they were so creamy and tender! (Try my Italian Butter Beans.)

Henderson lima beans

Henderson lima beans

This is my last snap bean harvest until I plant again this week.

Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans,

Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans, fish pepper, dragon tongue beans, Black Valentine green beans, cayenne peppers.

HARVEST ON JULY 5:

This was a banner day in the garden!

Black Beauty eggplant, Listada de Gandia eggplant, red bell peppers,

Black Beauty eggplant, Listada de Gandia eggplant, red bell peppers, Beit Alpha & Boston pickling cucumbers, Emerald Giant green bell peppers.

I had to empty my extra large basket so I could refill it!

Tomatoes: Pear, Mortgage Lifter, Rutgers, Riesentraube cherry, Amish paste

Tomatoes: Pear, Mortgage Lifter, Rutgers, Riesentraube cherry, Amish paste.

I think, with this harvest, I have enough hot peppers to make this season’s first batch of hot pepper jam.

Peppers:

Peppers: Mystery hot, mini yellow stuffing, fish, pepperoncini, mini red bell, lemon drop, cayenne.

I harvested another white watermelon, too.

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon

HARVEST ON JULY 6:

Cubanelle peppers,

Cubanelle peppers, Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, mystery hot pepper, Amish paste tomatoes, pear tomatoes, cayenne peppers, Boston pickling cucumbers, fish peppers. In the center: jalapenos.

Quite the harvests for a week, don’t you think? It’s what summer is about!

What are you harvesting?

Signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

