Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 6/29/14

It was a great week of harvests last week. I picked my first lima beans, Amish paste tomato, honeydew melon, and white watermelon – along with everything else. All total, I harvested 1 (2 pound) honeydew melon, 1 (9 pound) white watermelon, 13 cucumbers, 1/2 pound of snap beans (they’re just about done), 1.5 pounds of lima beans (shelled), 3 pounds of eggplant, 1.5 pounds of peppers, and 11 pounds of tomatoes! I think it’s time to put up some tomatoes.

In each picture, identification of the items in the basket start at the top and go clockwise.

HARVEST ON JUNE 23:

Pear tomatoes, Cherokee purple tomatoes,

Pear tomatoes, Cherokee purple tomatoes, Reisentraube cherry tomato, Beit Alpha & Boston pickling cucumbers, Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, Rutgers tomatoes, Rutgers tomato, pear tomatoes

HARVEST ON JUNE 24:

Black Beauty & Listada de Gandia eggplant,

Black Beauty & Listada de Gandia eggplant, pear tomatoes, Dragon Tongue & Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans, Mortgage Lifter tomato, Black Valentine green beans & fish pepper, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Cherokee Purple tomatoes (green because they fell off the plant!), Wisconsin tomato, jalapenos, cayenne pepper

HARVEST ON JUNE 26:

For those new to my site, the “mystery hot pepper” is from seed I got from a friend. I have no idea what it is (the package was labeled sweet red pepper), but it was so good, I saved seed from my crop last year and grew it again this year.

Boston pickling cucumbers, cubanelle peppers

Boston pickling cucumbers, cubanelle peppers, Amish paste tomato, Riesentraube cherry tomato, Rutgers tomato, pear tomatoes, mystery hot peppers, cayenne peppers, Henderson lima beans

HARVEST ON JUNE 27:

I didn’t have time to do a thorough harvest the day before of all the lima beans ready, so I finished the task on this day. What a job! Over an hour to harvest and a couple hours to shell.

Henderson lima beans

Henderson lima beans

I didn’t mean to harvest this honeydew melon, but it fell off the vine when I was picking the one next to it to throw away (because it had a huge insect hole in it). It’s close to ripe, but I’m not sure yet if it is. I’m letting it sit on my counter for a few days before cutting it.

Beit Alpha & Boston pickling cucumbers, Tam Dew honeydew melon,

Beit Alpha & Boston pickling cucumbers, Tam Dew honeydew melon, Mortgage Lifter & pear tomatoes, Rutgers & Cherokee Purple tomatoes, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, fish peppers & cayenne pepper.

HARVEST ON JUNE 28:

Slow day in the garden this day. 😉

Rutgers & Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Boston pickling & Beit Alpha cucumbers, mini red bell pepper, pear tomatoes

Rutgers & Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Boston pickling & Beit Alpha cucumbers, mini red bell pepper, pear tomatoes

HARVEST ON JUNE 29:

My first watermelon!

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon,

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon, Riesentraube cherry & Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, Beit Alpha cucumber, Rutgers & pear tomatoes, cayenne peppers

What are you harvesting from your garden?

Signature

2 comments on “Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 6/29/14

  1. Your garden & images are beautiful! I’m glad I’m not the only one who makes a point of photographing their harvest (it’s so gratifying isn’t it?)! I’m without a proper garden of my own this year, but a dear friend offered me space in hers; this past week we harvested cherry tomatoes & Persian cucumbers (both delicious!). And the sweet corn, green beans and Early Girl tomatoes are just about ready. 🙂

    • Thank you! I started taking pictures of my daily harvests last year, thinking other gardeners would enjoy seeing them. I enjoy looking at my bounty, too!

      That’s wonderful that your friend is sharing her garden space with you. There’s nothing like fresh garden produce! I just ate my first watermelon tonight…and it was AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

