Garden Bounty ~ Week Ending 6/22/14

Although it’s been in the 90s for weeks, my garden is still producing. I harvested 15 cucumbers, 1.5 pounds of winter squash, 6.2 pounds of peppers, 5.5 pounds of tomatoes, 2 pounds of beans, and 5.5 pounds of onions. Not too shabby!

HARVEST ON JUNE 17:

Unfortunately, I lost all my white acorn plants and a couple of my butternut squash plants to the squash vine borers. I harvested the fruit left behind, although I’m not sure it’s edible. We’ll see when I open them up, I guess.

As a note, the “mystery hot pepper” was from seed given to me without knowing what it was. They were so good, I saved seed from my peppers last year and grew them again this year.

White acorn squash, butternut squash, mystery hot pepper, pear tomatoes, Cherokee purple tomato,

White acorn squash, butternut squash, mystery hot pepper, pear tomatoes, Reisentraube cherry tomato, Cherokee purple tomato, Rutgers tomato, Boston pickling & Beit Alpha cucumbers

HARVEST ON JUNE 19:

Lots of peppers and yummy tomatoes.

Jalapenos, cayenne peppers, Boston pickling & Beit Alpha cucumbers, cubanelle peppers,

Jalapenos, cayenne peppers, Red Creole onions, Boston pickling & Beit Alpha cucumbers, cubanelle peppers, Texas Granex onions, Pepperoncini, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Rutgers tomato, Cherokee Purple tomato, Pear tomatoes, mystery hot pepper

HARVEST ON JUNE 20:

And the beans keep coming.

Black Valentine beans, Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans, Mortgage Lifter tomato, Riesentraube cherry & pear tomatoes, Dragon tongue beans, Beit Alpha & Boston pickling cucumbers

Black Valentine beans, Beurre de Rocquencourt wax beans, Mortgage Lifter tomato, jalapeno, Riesentraube cherry & pear tomatoes, Dragon tongue beans, Beit Alpha & Boston pickling cucumbers

I picked my first pink gladioli and made an arrangement for the garden luncheon I was planning that day.

Pink Gladioli

Pink Gladioli

I also picked some fresh basil and parsley for my luncheon. I love being able to pick my herbs fresh from the garden!

Basil & parsley

Basil & parsley

HARVEST ON JUNE 21:

This was a slow day in the garden….other than the onions.

Rutgers tomatoes, mystery hot pepper, Boston pickling cucumber

Rutgers tomatoes, mystery hot pepper, Boston pickling cucumber

As I said yesterday, the onions I planted from sets bought at Walmart were a bust. Either due to the supplier or the intense early heat, they were very small – if they grew at all. I guess I have a lot of pearl onions.

Red, white, and yellow onions

Red, white, and yellow onions

HARVEST ON JUNE 22:

I brought in quite a bit Sunday. The week’s harvest was enough to make dill pickles and hot pepper relish.

Emerald Giant green bell peppers, jalapenos, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Cherokee Purple tomatoes, Mortgage

Emerald Giant green bell peppers, jalapenos, Rutgers tomato, Riesentraube cherry tomatoes, Cherokee Purple tomatoes, Mortgage Lifter tomatoes, pear tomatoes, pepperoncini, cayenne peppers, Boston pickling cucumber

It’s amazing how many peppers a foot tall chili pepper plant will produce. I’m going to add them to my hot pepper relish this year. I bet they kick it up a notch. BAM!

Filius blue peppers

Filius blue peppers

I picked more pink gladioli on Sunday and created another arrangement and put it in the living room.

Pink Gladioli

Pink Gladioli

What are you harvesting in your garden?

Signature

 

Leave a Reply

