My Homestead and Garden Wish List

Garden gnome SG

Sometimes, even with all I have to do in the garden and on my homestead, I still like to think about the things I would like to add or do differently or try for the first time. I love to get inspiration from other gardeners and homesteaders. Today, I thought I’d share some of that inspiration.

Although I have many things I’d like to do “one day,” here are my top three.

GROWING 100 POUNDS OF POTATOES IN A 4′ X 4′ SPACE:

Because I live in a suburban area on just a third of an acre of land, I’m always looking for ways to grow more in the space I have. I found an article that shows how to grow about 100 pounds of potatoes in a 4×4 foot space – vertically. I would like to try this next year and see how it works.

 

WALKWAY WITH SLICED LOG PAVERS:

There are a few paths I’d like to create in my yard, but I don’t want expensive, fancy walkways. I’d like to line the walkway with brick (as I’ve done around my garden areas), then use pavers made from slices of hardwood logs stained white. In between, I’d put a brown gravel. I could get the logs for free on Craigslist; so many people cut down trees and give away the wood if you’ll just come and get it off their property. The gravel wouldn’t be that expensive, and I have a bit of brick left over from a free Craigslist find last year.  Here’s a picture of how someone else used wood slice pavers.

GREENHOUSE MADE OUT OF OLD WINDOWS:
I would like to have a small greenhouse near my garden – small enough to not need a building permit but large enough to allow me to start my seedlings in or grow greens throughout the winter. Yet, I don’t want to pay hundreds of dollars for a professionally built greenhouse. Once again, the internet comes to the rescue. Ideas upon ideas for building all sizes and types of greenhouses out of old windows. Not only would that save money, but it would also keep the windows out of the landfill. Although this picture isn’t exactly how I’d want to build mine, it is about the size I would like. (My Garden Wilson will surely be able to design a greenhouse on paper with little problem.)

What’s on your homestead and garden wish list?

Signature

Leave a Reply

