The Results of Hand Pollinating Squash

About two weeks ago, I started hand pollinating my squash. (To learn how, see Sex in the Garden ~ Hand Pollinating Squash.) It was easier than I thought, and I enjoyed going out to the garden in the morning to see what flowers were open. I can’t do much on work days because I leave so early in the morning, the squash flowers aren’t open yet; and then they’re closed up when I get home. However, I’ve pollinated daily on the last two weekends. After only two weeks, I think I can say it has been successful!

BLACK FUTSU SQUASH:

I have nine black futsu squash growing already. Here are the largest ones.

Black futsu squash

Black futsu squash

Black futsu squash

Black futsu squash

BUTTERNUT SQUASH:

I have six butternut squash growing so far.

Butternut squash

Butternut squash

Butternut squash

Butternut squash

WHITE ACORN SQUASH:

Last count, I had seven of these beauties growing.

White acorn squash

White acorn squash

White acorn squash

White acorn squash

TROMBONCINO SQUASH:

This is an Italian variety of zucchini that I’m growing under one of my teepee trellises. I have two of them growing with more female flowers coming.

Tromboncino squash

Tromboncino squash

I’m quite excited that I’ve got so many squash growing. Now to just ward off any squash vine borers, squash bugs, powdery mildew…..

Have you tried hand pollinating your squash? What were your results?

Signature

 

4 comments on “The Results of Hand Pollinating Squash

  1. I am growing yellow squash under a row cover and hand pollinating daily with very good success. However, the self pollinating zucchini, also being grown under row cover, has been phenomenal with no attention from me at all. I am curious to see how long each of them produce and stay disease free as the hot SC summer continues.

    • Wow…I didn’t know there was such a thing as self-pollinating zucchini. Is it an heirloom or a hybrid?

      I’m showing the beginning signs of powdery mildew on my squash and downy mildew on my cucumbers. Not bad though, so I’m going to spray everything with a baking soda foliar spray this weekend. (You can use a milk spray, too.) I’m probably going to do a post on foliar sprays early next week.

Leave a Reply

