Fruits of My Labor

This past week I noticed so many of my plants are now fruiting! I’ve shared some pictures in my Sanctuary Gardener updates the past two weeks, but there were too many “firsts” this week to share in yesterday’s update. It’s nice to start seeing the fruits of my labor. 🙂

PASTE TOMATOES:

This is the first time I’ve grown pear tomatoes. I like how they’re shaped.

Pear tomatoes

Pear tomatoes

I have fruit on one of my Amish paste tomatoes now.

Amish paste tomatoes

Amish paste tomatoes

SLICING TOMATOES:

I didn’t get pictures of the Wisconsin and Black Krim tomatoes because they are JUST starting to fruit and the tomatoes are still small, but I did get pictures of these beauties.

Look at how many tomatoes are on just one of my Cherokee Purple plants!

Cherokee Purple tomatoes

Cherokee Purple tomatoes

You can tell these babies are heirlooms. Look at those crinkles – to hold in all that tasty goodness!

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes

This is the first time I’ve grown Rutgers tomatoes.

Rutgers tomatoes

Rutgers tomatoes

CHERRY TOMATOES:

I received a package of this seed as a free gift with an order from Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds, and they were so good, this is my third year planting them.

Riesentraube tomatoes

Riesentraube tomatoes

I find it interesting to look at the different shape of all my tomatoes. Peppers have some intriguing shapes, as well.

SWEET PEPPERS:

My mini red bell peppers are flowering but no fruit yet. However, my regular red bell peppers are fruiting. Here’s the biggest one so far.

Red bell pepper

Red bell pepper

My green bell peppers are just starting to fruit.

Green bell peppers

Green bell peppers

This is the first time I’ve grown this variety, and I am fascinated at seeing these peppers growing upright.

Mini yellow stuffing peppers

Mini yellow stuffing peppers

CHILI PEPPERS:

My Peruvian peppers (Rocoto and Lemon Drop) are flowering but not fruiting yet. I posted pictures of my filius blue peppers and cayenne peppers a week ago. Here are my other hot peppers.

I love to stuff these with chicken.

Cubanelle peppers

Cubanelle peppers

I love to batter and fry these babies!

Jalapenos

Jalapenos

These add a nice flavor to my hot pepper relish and pepper jam.

Pepperoncini

Pepperoncini

I love the striped leaves on this one, and the peppers are great in chili.

Fish peppers

Fish peppers

Last year someone gave me seeds that were supposed to be a mini sweet red pepper. These were anything but sweet! Hot and tasty, they have defied my ability to identify them. So, I call them my mystery hot peppers. This is a plant I grew from seed I saved last year.

Mystery hot peppers

Mystery hot peppers

MELONS:

My cantaloupe plants have dozens of flowers but no fruit yet. Walking through the garden this weekend, I was surprised to find two honeydew melons growing!

Honeydew melon

Honeydew melon

I also found my first white watermelon this weekend, too. The hand pollination I did last week worked.

Cream of Saskatchewan white watermelon

Cream of Saskatchewan white watermelon

If you’re wondering what’s going on with my squash since I started hand pollinating, come back on Thursday for an update.

What’s fruiting in your garden?

Signature

 

 

Leave a Reply

