Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 5/12/14

It seems we went from a cool spring directly into the intense heat of summer. The past week has been in the 90s and still no rain in sight. I’ve had to water my seedlings daily to keep them from dying, which has been mostly successful. However, I have lost a few melons and chard. (I’ll be replanting the melons – got to have my melons!) A couple cucumbers as well as a few of my pepper plants are looking poorly, as well. I was concerned that this early heat would wreak havoc on my new transplants and seedlings. Overall, though, I think the garden is holding up well, considering.

ALMOST HARVEST:

My purple potatoes are starting to die back. I’m sure the red potatoes and fingerlings will begin the process soon. Within two weeks of the plants looking “dead,” I’ll be able to harvest!

Purple potatoes starting to die back

Purple potatoes starting to die back

GROWING:

My favorite wild flower is growing in patches all over my yard.

Blue-eyed grass flower patch

Blue-eyed grass flower patch

My summer greens are looking pretty good. I’ve never tasted these before, so I’m looking forward to them being ready for leaf-picking.

Magenta orach growing

Magenta orach

Green purslane

Green purslane

Golden purslane

Golden purslane

My Glass Gem corn is growing quickly.

Corn growing

Corn growing

My squash and melon vines are starting to creep out of the bed. The smaller watermelon plants in front were direct sown; the rest were my transplants. (Down the center are beer radishes.)

Squash & melons growing

Squash & melons growing

FRUITING:

Squash are starting to fruit.

Black Futsu squash

Black Futsu squash

White Acorn squash

White Acorn squash

Butternut squash

Butternut squash

I have the first tomatoes on my Rutgers, Mortgage Lifter, and Cherokee Purple plants. The heat is good for something!

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes

Cherokee Purple tomatoes

Cherokee Purple tomatoes

What’s growing in your garden?

Signature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

