Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 5/5/14

We got some much needed rain this week, but it was followed by a scorcher of a weekend. Yesterday was 89 degrees! Tuesday and Wednesday of this week are supposed to reach the low 90s. Hey, weather – it’s only May! Hello! Well, I still worked in the garden most of the weekend, but with straw hat on head and water in hand. At least the heat is bringing forth the seedlings, the growth, and the flowers.

GERMINATING:

Seedlings everywhere this week! Chard, lettuce, carrots, purslane, perpetual spinach, magenta orach, melons, nasturtiums, chamomile, and chia. I took pictures of a few of them.

I planted nasturtiums in the middle of my bean beds. The leaves are lovely!

Nasturtium seedling

Nasturtium seedling

I’m looking forward to seeing what these taste like.

Magenta orach seedlings

Magenta orach seedlings

Yes, I’m growing real chia (and not on a pet…LOL) Look at the shape of the leaves. I’ve never seen leaves like that before. Very cool.

Chia seedlings

Chia seedlings

FLOWERING:

Remember the dahlias I bought on the $1 rack at Lowes a couple weeks ago? I transplanted them last week, and they are doing just great with multiple blooms per plant.

Dahlia

Dahlia

I found the first buds and flowers on the tomato plants that I grew from seed – Reisentraubes, Amish Paste, and Pear tomatoes.

Pear tomato buds

Pear tomato buds

Last week I found my first canteloupe flowers. Yesterday, I saw my honeydew with buds.

Honeydew melon buds

Honeydew melon buds

FRUITING:

I have a small white acorn squash on one plant. The flower just fell off, so I’m not sure if it was fertilized or not. We’ll see if that becomes a full squash. Other than that, I have two peppers that are fruiting.

Sweet yellow stuffing pepper

Sweet yellow stuffing pepper

I can’t wait to taste this chili pepper!

Filius blue pepper

Filius blue pepper

IN THE ORCHARD:

The apple trees are growing new limbs and leaves, and the grape vines are starting to reach up the fence. My elderberry trees are growing lots of new leaves, too.

Elderberry tree

Elderberry tree

IN THE GARDEN:

My lima beans and snap beans are all up and growing their secondary leaves.

Snap beans

Snap beans

Yesterday, I found this lady bug on my lima beans. Hope she brings friends!

Lady bug on lima bean leaf

Lady bug on lima bean leaf

While weeding my potato bed, I saw this green thing poking out of the ground. I had no idea what it was – until I pulled it out. It was a fingerling potato that had pushed through the soil. (Sunlight causes potatoes to turn green, which is very toxic.)

Fingerling potato exposed to the sun

Fingerling potato exposed to the sun

After finding that fingerling potato through the soil, I hilled up all my potato plants with grass clippings mulch.

Potatoes hilled up

Hilled up potatoes

How are things growing in your garden?

Signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

