2014 National Public Gardens Day

2014 National Public Gardens Day Pic

Last year I discovered National Public Gardens Day – a day when the public can receive free admission to a participating public garden near them. So, I spent the day at Magnolia Gardens in Charleston, SC, for free. (I took the picture above while there.) I plan to participate again this year and want to share the info with you.

Many botanical gardens and arborita participate in National Public Gardens Day, opening their gates to the public for free, not only to share their beauty but to also raise awareness about their role in “promoting environmental stewardship, plant and water conservation, green spaces, and education in communities nationwide” (per nationalpublicgardensday.org).

This year’s National Public Gardens Day is Friday, May 9, 2014. Many gardens will have special events and activities throughout the weekend. Click here to enter your state and zip code and find a participating botanical garden near you. Once you find your local participating garden, click on the link on the map to go to the offer. Then print the coupon and take it with you that day. (Magnolia Gardens requested my email address and zip code before giving me the coupon to print.)

Last year, there was a national photo contest for the day. I haven’t seen an advertisement yet for a photo contest this year, but that may be added to the National Public Gardens Day website soon, so keep looking!

Whether or not there’s a photo contest this year, I plan to take lots of pictures at Magnolia Gardens. I did that last year. (See My Day at Magnolia Gardens for last year’s pictures.) It was a wonderful day of enjoying garden beauty that I’m looking forward to doing again. So, join me in participating in National Public Gardens Day – and don’t forget your camera!

Signature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

