Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 4/7/14

It’s been a busy week in the garden. The temperature was in the mid-80’s, and there was much to do. I was hoping to get some of my seed in the ground this past weekend, but that didn’t happen. I spent twelve hours in the garden, and it was all spent preparing some of my raised beds. (I still have four more to do!) Why did it take me so long? See my post later this week, “The Good Idea that Wasn’t.” For now, let me share the good things from my garden.

HARVESTS:

In preparation for planting all my beds, I’m beginning to harvest my winter crops. At least, what I had left after the ice storms. The only crops I’ll be leaving will be the onions, garlic, and potatoes. Here are this week’s harvests:

Harvest of beet greens, buttercrunch lettuce, spinach, & icicle radishes ~ April 1

Harvest of beet greens, Tom Thumb lettuce, Giant Noble & Bloomsdale spinach, & icicle radishes ~ April 1

Harvest of Mary Washington asparagus & curly parsley ~ April 1

Harvest of Mary Washington asparagus & curly parsley ~ April 1

Harvest of Red Sails, Black Seeded Simpson, and Red Romaine lettuces ~ April 4

Harvest of Red Sails, Black Seeded Simpson, and Red Romaine lettuces ~ April 4

Harvest of Mary Washington asparagus & daikon radishes ~ April 4

Harvest of Mary Washington asparagus & daikon radishes ~ April 4

SEEDLINGS:

My seedlings ventured outside for the first time this week as I’ve begun the hardening off process.

Seedlings in the sun, hardening off

Seedlings in the sun, hardening off

My white acorn squash are already blooming daily (male flowers). Until recently, it’s been too chilly to start the hardening off process, so these guys are raring to go!

White Acorn squash flower (male)

White Acorn squash flower (male)

IN THE GARDEN:

While at Lowes buying mulch this week, I found these beautiful lilies for only $5.00! I don’t know yet where I’m going to plant them, so they’re on my patio in the pot. When the breeze blows, I can smell them across the yard!

My new lilies

My new lilies

My carrot bed is forested with tall green tops.

Scarlet Nantes carrots

Scarlet Nantes carrots

My daikon radishes bolted and bloomed before I harvested them. Unfortunately, the radishes themselves weren’t very big (see the picture above), and they were rather woody. At least, the flowers were pretty.

 

Daikon radish flowers

Daikon radish flowers

While I was preparing my raised beds this weekend, I found three or four of these things in the dirt. When I felt them (with my garden gloves on, of course), they had the consistency of a mushroom, but with a root. Then, like an alien spawn from some sci-fi movie, the gelatinous center bulged out of a crack when I squeezed it. Ewwww! Not one to throw things aside without investigating, I searched the internet to find out what it was. It seems I discovered a few stinkhorn mushroom balls, which I promptly removed from my raised beds.

Stinkhorn mushroom ball

Stinkhorn mushroom ball

IN THE ORCHARD:

I was  a little sad to see that most of the largest of my baby key limes had dropped from the older of my two trees. I’m thinking it was due to the cold. But the good news is, the tree is LOADED with flowers!

Key lime tree covered with flowers

Key lime tree covered with flowers

I do have truly sad news. It’s the first week of April, and my fig tree still has no buds or any sign of life. I think the first ice storm we had weakened it, and the second ice storm killed it. 😦

Celeste fig tree ~ dead?

Celeste fig tree ~ dead?

On a happier note: both my apple trees are full of leaves.

Pink Lady apple tree

Pink Lady apple tree

Granny Smith apple tree

Granny Smith apple tree

What’s happening in your garden this week?

Signature

2 comments on “Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 4/7/14

  1. I also have a fig tree showing no signs of life on May 2nd (I live in Oregon in the southern Willamette Valley). It’s much bigger than yours, was well-established, and has borne much delicious fruit the past few years. The little buds on the ends of the branches are brown and dry and seem dead. I can’t believe the whole tree’s dead though. Does anybody out there have any suggestions?

    • That’s exactly how my tree looks. I thought it died due to the two ice storms we had here in the South this winter. Strange. And sad. Last year was my first year of figs. Looks like I’ll be buying another fig tree this fall to replace it. GOT to have my figs!!

Leave a Reply

