My Day at the 2014 Carolina Yard Gardening School

Photo credit: Clemson University Extension

Photo credit: Clemson University Extension

Last Saturday, I spent the day with gardening enthusiasts and Master Gardeners for a full schedule of gardening info and hands-on fun. It was my second year attending this green-thumb extravaganza; and, once again, I came home with my head spinning from all the knowledge I gained.

I took pages and pages of notes that I can’t wait to share with you next week. Today, I’ll share with you all the goodies I took home with me. I had to make two trips to my car because I couldn’t carry it all!

SEMINAR GOODIES:

  • Free Soil Test by Clemson University- I brought a bag of soil made up of a scoop of each of my 20 raised beds (mixed together well). I’m looking forward to comparing the results to last year’s test. I should have the results in about 10 days.
  • A small bag of wild bird seed from Wild Birds Unlimited (plus a 20% off coupon to their store)
  • A package of Snapdragon seeds
  • A GardenSoxx filled with Palmetto Supreme Organic Compost

Here’s a picture of the vendor’s set up with the GardenSoxx – some with plants growing in them.

GardenSoxx on display

GardenSoxx on display

WORKSHOP PROJECTS:

  • A small worm-composting bin filled with compost, food, and red worms. (I didn’t take a picture of it as it was a plastic tub with holes I drilled in it.)
  • A bluebird birdhouse with a succulent garden on top. The house was mostly built, but I added the garden on top. Here’s mine:
My birdhouse

My birdhouse

DOOR PRIZE:

  • Another small bag of wild bird seed from Wild Birds Unlimited
  • A large rain gauage
  • A beautiful shade-loving plant. (I just wish I knew what this was. If you know, please comment below.)
Shade plant I won ~ what is it??

Shade plant I won ~ what is it??

How’s that for some garden seminar booty?

Come back next week for the other good stuff ~ all the info I learned!

Signature

 

4 comments on “My Day at the 2014 Carolina Yard Gardening School

  1. Yes, ajuga. Probably “Burgandy Glow”. A great ground cover for partly shady, moist areas. It blooms late spring, but the foliage is gorgeous all spring through fall. Perennial.

    • Thanks. Someone else told me it was Ajuga. The leaves really are pretty. So are the flowers. I read it spreads, too, so I’m looking forward to planting it in my new shade garden in the fall. (Now it’s in the pot on my patio.)

Leave a Reply

