2014 Spring Planting

Garden Tools SG

Here in Zone 8, spring planting begins the last week of March. That’s only a week away!! My seedlings in the grow room got a late start (see Germination Failure), so they won’t be ready to plant outside next week. But that’s okay as I have so many other things to plant. And with working full time, there’s no way I could plant over 750 square feet of garden in one weekend! This year is definitely going to be a staggered planting. As I did for the winter planting, I’ll share with you what I’m planting with links to where you can get the seed.

This year, I got seeds from Jung Seed Company, Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds, Southern Exposure Seed Exchange, Seed Savers Exchange, My Patriot Supply, Native Seeds/SEARCH, and Pinetree Garden Seeds & Accessories.

Here are the varieties I’ll be planting:

TOMATOES:

  • Mortgage Lifter (bought plants locally)
  • Black Krim (looking for plants locally)
  • Rutgers Heirloom (bought plants locally – first year growing)
  • Pear (I received free seed from a friend – first year growing)
  • Wisconsin 55 – slicing tomato, first year growing
  • Amish Paste
  • Riesentraube – cherry tomato

SWEET PEPPERS:

CHILI PEPPERS:

  • Mystery hot – I got seed from a friend that wasn’t what he said it was; but they were wonderfully hot and flavorful. I saved seed last year & I’m growing them again.
  • Rocoto – I originally got these from Seed Savers, but they are no longer available. Glad I saved my seed last year!
  • Lemon Drop
  • Italian Pepperoncini
  • Cubanelle
  • Long Red Cayenne – first year growing
  • Filius Blue – first year growing
  • Fish
  • Jalapeno

EGGPLANT:

CORN:

BEANS:

CUCUMBERS:

SUMMER SQUASH:

WINTER SQUASH:

MELONS:

LETTUCE & SPRING GREENS:

I’m planting these around my pepper plants. I had great success last year doing this because the pepper plants offered the lettuce shade from the hot summer sun.

SUMMER GREENS:

RADISHES:

I’m planting them around my squash and cucumbers to help keep the squash bugs away – and give me radishes for my spring salads.

MISCELLANEOUS:

HERBS:

FLOWERS:

I have my work cut out for me, don’t I? But I can’t wait!

What are you planting this spring?

Signature

Leave a Reply

