Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 3/17/14

Just when I thought we wouldn’t have any more nights below freezing, we got a little surprise. Friday morning’s low was 31 degrees, and several of my plants showed it. However, I think NOW I can say spring is arriving. At least, we’re finally seeing all the signs around.

LAST SIGNS OF WINTER:

First, here’s what I hope is the LAST sign of winter ~ effects of the FINAL frost!

All my potatoes are up, and the frost made mush of all the leaves. Thankfully, the plant will send up new leaves. The frost just set them back a couple weeks.

Red potato plant after a frost

Red potato plant after a frost

The frost nipped my arugula and turned some of the leaves yellow.

Arugula after a frost

Arugula after a frost

HARVESTS:

Nothing screams spring better than harvesting your winter crops!

The night before the frost, I harvested all the asparagus spears that were sticking more than 3 or 4 inches out of the ground. (I was going to lose them anyway.) Of course, I ate them right away.

Mary Washington asparagus harvest

Mary Washington asparagus harvest

I picked my first radishes yesterday. (Finally!)

Easter Egg radish harvest

Easter Egg radish harvest

SIGNS OF SPRING:

The dogwood trees are in bloom all over the city. Here’s a pic of my neighbor’s beautiful tree beginning to bloom.

Dogwood tree beginning to bloom

Dogwood tree beginning to bloom

My hydrangea bushes, apple trees, and grape vines are all getting their leaves.

Hydrangea getting leaves

Hydrangea getting leaves

Pink Lady apple tree leaves

Pink Lady apple tree leaves

Granny Smith apple tree leaves (first ones!)

Granny Smith apple tree leaves (first ones!)

Grape leaf buds on Marquis vine

Grape leaf buds on Marquis vine

Grape leaf on Marquis vine

Grape leaf on Marquis vine

IN THE GARDEN:

I’ve been harvesting my rosemary and parsley this week. Soon, I’ll be able to start harvesting my oregano again. It’s filling in nicely after the ice storm killed half of it.

Oregano

Oregano

My watercress is growing back. I didn’t think it would.

Watercress growing back

Watercress growing back

Most of my onion seedlings are surviving, and all my onion bulbs are now up.

Onions

Onions

I finally have lettuce almost ready to harvest.

Red Sails lettuce

Red Sails lettuce

Yesterday, I noticed that a couple of my white tulips had multiple flowers growing. I think that’s odd, but very cool.

Tulip with two flowers

Tulip with two flowers

Tulip with four flowers!

Tulip with four flowers!

IN THE GROW ROOM:

My sweet bell peppers are finally starting to germinate. Well, at least the green and yellow bells. Nothing from the red bells yet. And not as many green bells as I need either. I finally have cayenne peppers coming up. I really wanted those! I guess the peppers are taking their time this year.

A few days ago, I did get quite the surprise with my squash seedlings. My round zucchini seedlings have flower buds!! I can’t believe it. It’s been only three weeks since I planted the seeds and there are flower buds on my seedlings. How cool is that?

Tondo Scuro di Piacenza zucchini seedlings with flower buds ~ 3 weeks post planting

Tondo Scuro di Piacenza zucchini seedlings with flower buds ~ 3 weeks post planting

Have you planted seeds in your grow room yet? What signs of spring are you seeing?

Signature

Leave a Reply

