Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 3/3/14

We had spring-like weather this week, and I’ve got asparagus, onions, and potatoes popping out of the soil. The birds are out in full force, too. This weekend, my neighbor said she counted 19 birds in my backyard at one time. I also have seedlings in the grow room! Amazing what will happen when you give your seeds the proper “home” to grow in.

IN THE GROW ROOM:

Three days after planting, I had my first seedling poke through the soil. The squash and melons were the first to break the soil, and some of them are starting to grow secondary leaves already! Some tomatoes started coming up about five days after planting, and I saw my first two pepper seedlings (jalapenos) yesterday.

Squash & Melon seedlings ~ 6 days post planting

Squash & Melon seedlings ~ 6 days post planting

Secondary leaves coming on zucchini seedlings ~ 7 days post planting

Secondary leaves coming on zucchini seedlings ~ 7 days post planting

Amish paste tomato seedlings ~ 7 days post planting

Amish paste tomato seedlings ~ 7 days post planting

WHAT’S NEW IN THE GARDEN:

I have Mary Washington asparagus seedlings! The seeds dropped from the fern last summer, and now they’re growing. I pulled the seedlings that started growing on the side of the bed with the Purple Passion asparagus, but I’m going to let them grow on their own side.

Mary Washington asparagus seedlings

Mary Washington asparagus seedlings

My onion seedlings are holding their own. I think most of them are going to make it. This weekend, I noticed I have a few sprouts from the onion bulbs I planted.

Onion bulbs sprouting ~ 7 days post planting

Onion bulbs sprouting ~ 7 days post planting

About three-quarters of the potatoes I planted have now sprouted.

Red potato sprout

Red potato sprout

Fingerling potato sprout

Fingerling potato sprout

Purple potato sprout

Purple potato sprout

My younger key lime tree has quite a few flowers on it. My older key lime tree has baby limes and is sprouting new leaves.

Key lime tree with new leaves and limes

Key lime tree with new leaves and limes

OTHER GARDEN HAPPENINGS:

I have seven spears of Mary Washington asparagus growing. (No sign of life from my Purple Passion asparagus yet.) We have a freeze warning tonight, so I’ll be harvesting the largest of these this afternoon ~ my first harvest of 2014!

Mary Washington asparagus

Mary Washington asparagus

After two ice storms, my oregano and flat and curly parsley are doing great!

Curly parsley

Curly parsley

This past weekend, I pruned my fig tree. A side branch was almost as large as the main trunk; and when it was full of leaves and fruit last summer, it literally started to pull the tree over. I knew it had to go as soon as the worst of winter was over. To make matters worse, the first ice storm cracked the limb inside the collar of the branch. Not good. I pruned it where I was supposed to (outside the collar of the branch) and left the crack to finish healing. (It seems like it’s okay so far.) The tree is half what it used to be, but it will be healthier. I hope I’ll still get a good amount of fruit this summer.

Celeste fig tree before pruning

Celeste fig tree before pruning

Celeste fig tree after pruning

Celeste fig tree after pruning

During the week, I found a little visitor that I was happy to see. He’s the first this year, so spring’s arrival is surely close (regardless of what the weatherman says). I love these little guys.

Carolina Anole

Carolina Anole near my wood pile

How are things in your garden? Still under snow or watching spring arrive?

Signature

Leave a Reply

