Spring is Coming!

Tulips blooming

Tulips blooming

After the coldest January in years and two ice storms, I believe our winter is over and spring is on its way. The temperatures are warming up with most days in the mid-60s now. And with the warmer temperatures, the trees are starting to throw pollen. (My blue car is looking rather green.) My asparagus bed has several spears sticking through the soil, and my tulips are in bloom. This is my first year with tulips, and it’s a joy to come home to these beauties every day. Because many of you readers are still buried under a foot of snow or more (sorry, Mom & Dad), I thought I’d share my small piece of spring with you.

In December, I planted purple, white, and purple flame tulips. The package said they would bloom April-May. I guess, here in the South, they bloom two months sooner. Ask me if I mind!

My first bloom on Feb 19

My first bloom on Feb 19

Purple flame tulip

Purple flame tulip

My purple and purple flame tulips were the first out of the ground and the first to bloom. The white tulips are a little silly ~ they’re trying to bloom while not fully out of the ground yet!

White tulip bud

White tulip bud

White tulip trying to bloom while coming out of the ground

White tulip trying to bloom while coming out of the ground

I had no idea that tulips close in the evening and re-open in the morning. Here are my tulips when I came home from work one night.

Tulips closed for the night

Tulips closed for the night

I never thought I’d grow tulips, but I’m very glad I decided to plant them. They are so beautiful! My grandfather was a florist and grew tulips (among other flowers). I wish he could see me now. I think he would be proud. (You can read about my Grandfather in my post, Grandpa’s Greenhouse.)

What signs of spring are you seeing? If you’re still buried in white stuff, hang on…spring is on the way!

Signature

Leave a Reply

