Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 2/17/14

Kindling gathered ~ thanks to Winter Storm Pax!

Kindling gathered ~ thanks to Winter Storm Pax!

What an eventful week! Winter Storm Pax visited us for a couple of days, and the entire area was covered in ice. (For pictures, click here.) I was very blessed in that my property had no damage. My yard was full of small branches, though, which I gathered up as kindling for my fireplace. After the last ice storm (Winter Storm Leon), I was surprised that my seedlings had survived. I thought for sure they wouldn’t make it through this ice storm, but they did!

SEEDLINGS SURVIVED TWO ICE STORMS:

Most of my seedlings survived both ice storms. I didn’t have too many beet or carrot seedlings before the storm, but the ones I had didn’t survive. I have only a handful left. I think they were just two small (without secondary leaves yet). However, the seedlings that had secondary leaves did survive. They’re all still rather small (due to the cold, I’m sure), but I stand in awe that they made it at all.

Purple Top turnip seedlings ~ after two ice storms

Purple Top turnip seedlings ~ after two ice storms

Kale seedling ~ after two ice storms

Kale seedling ~ after two ice storms

Giant Noble spinach seedling ~ after two ice storms

Giant Noble spinach seedling ~ after two ice storms

Red romaine lettuce seedling ~ after two ice storms

Red romaine lettuce seedlings ~ after two ice storms

Arugula seedlings ~ after two ice storms

Arugula seedlings ~ after two ice storms

Watermelon radish seedlings ~ after two ice storms

Watermelon radish seedlings ~ after two ice storms

SPRING FLOWERS:

About half the tulips I planted in December are up, and several have buds beginning to form – after two ice storms! This week is supposed to get up into the mid-70’s, so I expect the other half of the tulips will push through the ground this week. It’ll be interesting to see if the bloom times are staggered.

Tulips ~ after two ice storms

Tulips ~ after two ice storms

Tulip bud coming

Tulip bud coming

SEED GERMINATION:

It’s been eight days since I planted my spring seeds. During the week, one watermelon seed pushed its way through the soil. So far, that’s the only seedling. I imagine this coming week I’ll see a lot more.

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon seedling

Cream of Saskatchewan watermelon seedling

I have to say, we’ve had an actual winter here in the South this year. But I think the worst of it is over. The temperatures will be rising, my tulips are coming up, and there are small buds on the trees. Spring is in the air. And I can’t wait!

Are you seeing any signs of spring yet?

Signature

Leave a Reply

