Winter Storm Pax in Pictures ~ Charleston, SC

Lampost & crepe myrtle ~ Winter Storm Pax

Lampost & crepe myrtle tree ~ Winter Storm Pax

I have lived in the Charleston, SC area for 19 years without witnessing an ice storm. Yet, in the past two weeks, we’ve had not one, but TWO ice storms! On January 31, we had Winter Storm Leon. (See pictures in two parts: here and here.) Wednesday, we got Winter Storm Pax. Although this storm didn’t last as long, it was actually worse.

Compared to Winter Storm Leon, we got more ice, which brought down trees and power lines, and caused the loss of electricity to thousands – me among them. (Thankfully, my electricity was off for only six hours; others are still without power.) It was truly deja vu of my childhood in Rhode Island. Although my home escaped unscathed, a house two streets over from me had a tree fall on it and they had to seek shelter.

While outside taking these pictures, all I could hear was the snapping of branches and the swooshing of large pieces of ice falling to the ground as the branches drooped. Dangerous, yes. But oh so pretty.

WINTER STORM PAX IN PICTURES – MY TREES:

Winter Storm Pax ~ Crepe Myrtle 1

Winter Storm Pax ~ Crepe Myrtle 1

Winter Storm Pax ~ Crepe myrtle tree 2

Winter Storm Pax ~ Crepe myrtle tree 2

Winter Storm Pax ~ Crepe myrtle tree 3

Winter Storm Pax ~ Crepe myrtle tree 3

Winter Storm Pax ~ Potential "widow makers" on my gum tree

Winter Storm Pax ~ Potential “widow makers” on my gum tree

Winter Storm Pax ~ Oak trees behind my shed

Winter Storm Pax ~ Oak trees behind my shed

Winter Storm Pax ~ Oak branch

Winter Storm Pax ~ Oak branch

Winter Storm Pax ~ Oak branch and my house

Winter Storm Pax ~ Oak branch and my house

WINTER STORM PAX IN PICTURES – MY YARD:

Winter Storm Pax ~ Icicles on my patio furniture

Winter Storm Pax ~ Icicles on my patio furniture

Winter Storm Pax ~ Rocoto pepper plants and oregano

Winter Storm Pax ~ Rocoto pepper plants and oregano

Winter Storm Pax ~ Chrysanthemums

Winter Storm Pax ~ Chrysanthemums

Winter Storm Pax ~ Birdhouse (hole chewed on by squirrel!)

Winter Storm Pax ~ Icicles on the bird house (hole chewed on by squirrel!)

Winter Storm Pax ~ Icicles on the bird feeder

Winter Storm Pax ~ Icicles on the bird feeder

Winter Storm Pax ~ Ice on my basket

Winter Storm Pax ~ Ice on my basket

Winter Storm Pax ~ Pine bough over my compost bin

Winter Storm Pax ~ Pine bough over my compost bin

WINTER STORM PAX IN PICTURES – MY NEIGHBORHOOD:

Winter Storm Pax ~ Over the fence beyond my compost bin

Winter Storm Pax ~ Over the fence beyond my compost bin

Winter Storm Pax ~ Under my crepe myrtle, facing the neighbor's house

Winter Storm Pax ~ Under my crepe myrtle, facing the neighbor’s house

Winter Storm Pax ~ Looking down my street

Winter Storm Pax ~ Looking down my street

Winter Storm Pax ~ Neighbor's fir tree split

Winter Storm Pax ~ Neighbor’s fir tree split

Winter Storm Pax ~ Limbs down in my neighbor's yard (the one with the chickens)

Winter Storm Pax ~ Limbs down in my neighbor’s yard (the one with the chickens)

Winter Storm Pax ~ Pine limbs down in the yard behind mine

Winter Storm Pax ~ Pine limbs down in the yard behind mine

Winter Storm Pax ~ Icy pine bough over neighbor's shed

Winter Storm Pax ~ Icy pine bough over neighbor’s shed

Winter Storm Pax ~ Empty shelves at the local BiLo grocery store

Winter Storm Pax ~ Empty bread shelves at the local BiLo grocery store

Did you go through Winter Storm Pax? How did your homestead fare?

Signature

2 comments on “Winter Storm Pax in Pictures ~ Charleston, SC

  1. Worst ice storm I have seen in years ! I’ve only lived in Columbia for 7 yrs. from Pa/NJ area. Lots of branches down. …. Poor daffodils had bloomed they look pathetic now…we are either going to have a rainy Spring or go straight into summer

    • I’ve seen ice storms a lot worse than the past two – but they were in Rhode Island! Thankfully, I just had a few branches down (none thicker than an inch). My seedlings survived – they’re just very small due to the cold. It’s not looking like they’ll have time to mature before I have to empty the beds for the spring planting. I hope we have a rainy spring vs. an early summer. It’s too hot here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

