My 2014 Homestead Goals

Slide1

I can’t believe we are only eleven days from the new year! Besides the holidays, this time of year represents a great time for looking ahead and embracing the chance to start anew. Many make New Year resolutions, but I prefer to call them my New Year plans and goals. It’s this time of year that I love to look back at the past year on my homestead and see what worked, what I could improve upon, and even what did NOT work that should be done away with. (Stay tuned for my end of year article on just that!) Then, with that information, I look ahead to how I can improve on what I’ve already done and what new things I want to add. Whether concerning my garden, my mini orchard, my home, or myself, I want next year to be even better than this past year.

2014 GOALS FOR THE GARDEN AND ORCHARD:

I have several goals for my garden. As you know, I increased my gardening space from 15 raised beds to 20 in July, so I have so much more space to work with. Also, after learning about edible landscaping, I want to utilize my front yard to further increase my gardening space. Here are some of the ways I want to improve my garden this coming year:

  • Build another bed to start a medicinal herb garden
  • Utilize companion planting with herbs among my vegetables to draw beneficial insects and repel pests
  • Be more diligent with using compost tea as fertilizer
  • Begin to use herbal teas to assist plants with health and warding off disease
  • Expand the garden into the front yard (among my fruit trees) by: planting amarinth as a border, planting ornamental chili peppers (fish peppers) in pretty pots, and planting herbs as walkway borders.
  • Grow summer greens so I can have salad from my own garden in the summer
  • Try new varieties and new types of vegetables
  • Prune my fig tree

2014 GOALS FOR THE HOMESTEAD:

There are always things to be done on the homestead, but here are some of the major tasks I want to accomplish during the “winter” season:

  • Trim tree branches away from the house and very large shed
  • Repair rotted wood on my shed, add trim, and paint to match the house
  • Put together a 440-gallon rain-catching system. (I have the barrels!)
  • Possibly build a pergola to be used for kiwi plants. (I’m analyzing sunlight hours in various parts of the yard now to see if it’s feasible.)

2014 GOALS FOR THE HOME:

As every homeowner knows, the list of home improvements never ends. But here is what I’d like to do over the course of 2014:

  • Paint the trim on my brick house (so large shed and house will be brilliant and color-coordinated)
  • Replace oustide lighting fixtures
  • Have my beau make me a built-in bookcase and reading bench in my living room. (He is amazing with taking a drawing and creating just what I pictured!!)

2014 GOALS FOR SANCTUARY GARDENER:

The goals for Sanctuary Gardener include this website AND aspirations for Sanctuary Gardener herself (me!).

  • Expand this website to accommodate its growth and offer more to my readers (thanks, everyone!)
  • Obtain my Master Gardener certification
  • Start writing the book I have in mind (stay tuned for updates on that down the road)
  • Join the South Carolina Herbal Society and attend meetings and workshops to begin learning more about herbs
  • Investigate herbal schools that offer distance learning courses in order to work on becoming a Master Herbalist and start saving for that goal (a goal for 2015, probably)

As with all plans and goals, things happen and plans have to be adjusted. But I have set these as my goals and will be mapping out how to accomplish them (the objectives to meet my goals). Even if I don’t accomplish all of the above, I will still be further along than I am now. And that’s progress!

What are the plans and goals you have for yourself and your homestead in 2014? Please share them with me in the comments below. I may be inspired by one of your goals and add it to my own.

Signature

Leave a Reply

