Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 10/28/13

This week was definitely all about the harvest! I can’t believe how many baskets I filled this week. I also planted Bloomsdale and Giant Noble spinach, Red Creole and White Texas Granex onions, and Italian softneck garlic on Friday. That night, the temperature dipped to 35 degrees for the first time (a little early for us), and I got nervous, but all was well. The temperatures are starting to rise again back to our normal of the mid-70s during the day and the mid-50s to low 60s at night. More growing warmth coming. Now, if we could just get some rain!

HARVESTS:

My lemon drop peppers are ripening by the dozens and dozens this week. I dehydrated four trays of these babies.

Lemon drop peppers & red bell pepper

Lemon drop peppers & red bell pepper

I harvested the first purple top turnips this week.

Purple top turnips

Purple top turnips

My fig tree has lost about half its leaves now, but the couple dozen figs left on it are still ripening. I think this was the last big harvest of the season, so I took that as my cue it was time to make fig preserves. (Recipe will be posted this Friday!)

Fig harvest ~ October 25

Celeste fig harvest ~ October 25

I finally got to harvest two cucumbers this week! At this point, the pickle worms have eaten more cucumbers than I have! My green beans are slowing down, and a grasshopper I can’t seem to catch/kill has been eating the beans. Argh!

Harvest ~ October 25

Harvest ~ October 25

The chili peppers are still productive, and it’s time to make another couple batches of pepper jam.

Pepper harvest ~ October 26

Pepper harvest ~ October 26

I picked a couple bunches of cilantro, too, to make key lime guacamole and homemade salsa (recipe to follow soon).

Cilantro harvest ~ October 26

Cilantro harvest ~ October 26

IN THE GARDEN:

I found a cute baby Carolina Anole on one of my green bell peppers. I love these guys.

Carolina anole

Carolina anole

My peppers are still flowering. These are my pepperoncini.

Pepperoncini flowering

Pepperoncini flowering

A few carrots from my first planting actually germinated and are growing. (I have since planted more, waiting for them to come up.)

Imperator carrots

Imperator carrots

A few of my key limes are starting to ripen. They’re not as deep green, turning a lighter color on their way to yellowish-green when they’ll be fully ripe. A couple more weeks, I think.

Key limes ripening

Key limes ripening

It’s been a busy week with planting, harvesting, canning, and dehydrating. On Saturday, I submitted my raspberry preserves, pepper relish, hot pepper jam, and fig preserves into the competition for our county fair. They’ll be judged today, and I’ll know if I won any ribbons this coming weekend when the fair opens. Stay tuned!

What’s going on at your homestead?

8 comments on “Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 10/28/13

  1. Such beautiful harvests and garden. I’m jealous… in a good way!

    We sold our homestead/farm earlier this year… On larger property, but only renting, for now. A bit scared to dive in and build some of the ‘infrastructure’ necessary to go full steam… Praying for guidance.

    • Thanks! This is my second year gardening. All my adult life I wanted my own home with land to grow my own food. Two years ago, the Lord blessed me with a beautiful home on a third acre. I currently have 20 raised beds and 2 fruit trees – fig & key lime. I’m learning as I go and sharing what I learn on my blog. I hope you’re able to grow your own again! (By the way, I’m enjoying your blog!)

      • Thank you.

        Glad you get to fulfill that dream, even if late… I grew up taking care of gardens, etc… Your blog makes it sound like fun again… LOL! Too easy to lose the enchantment of watching things grow and harvesting.

        Something happens to the soul when we can get our hands dirty. It is a great connectedness that spans millennia.

        Keep the great posts coming.

Leave a Reply

