My Favorite Homesteading Blogs

Although I have my own blog on gardening and homesteading, I am, by no means, an expert. What I have learned, I’ve obtained from personal experience, from talking to people in the trenches, from books, from online research, and from fellow bloggers who have “been there, done that.” I thought today I would share with you some of the blogs that have taught me, encouraged me, or just helped me to realize that I’m not alone in this world of gardening and urban homesteading.

This list of blogs does not include all the blogs I subscribe to, but I think these are great places to go when you want to learn something new, try a new recipe, find an answer to a particular question or need, or be encouraged that you’re doing something right afterall. Please visit their sites – and consider staying a while by subscribing. You’ll be glad you did.

MY FAVORITE BLOGS (listed in no particular order):

Fresh Eggs Daily: Lisa Steele feels like a friend although we’ve never met. Her warm, conversational style regarding raising chickens is a joy to read. Although I don’t have backyard chickens yet (that IS in the homesteading plan!), I know her site will be one of my top go-to sites for all things chicken and eggs (including recipes). She has a book coming out, too!

1840 Farm: Jennifer Burcke lives in an old farmhouse, and her blog is about farming her land and how she preserves the bounty. She also includes many recipes made from the produce harvested. She believes in healthy cooking, and her recipes are easy to follow. Be sure to check her link “Shop 1840 Farm” where she shows/sells the beautiful cloth baskets she makes (via Etsy).

Garden Betty: Garden Betty’s real name is Linda Ly, and she is a wonderful writer and photographer. Having moved from city life to the California coast, she shares her experience with learning to garden and raise chickens. She also shares very unique recipes made with her garden produce, including those from her Vietnamese heritage. An additional pleasure on her blog is her surfing and travel updates. She’s a free spirit in the garden and in the wilderness!

ApotheKayla: I’m fairly new to following this blog, but I am enjoying Kayla’s take on healthy living. She is a strong advocate for chemical-free living. (Okay, as my father would say, everything in life is chemistry. But I’m sure you know what I mean!) Her blog has recipes for do-it-yourself toiletries, makeup, household cleansers, etc. I’m looking forward to trying some of those recipes myself.

Studio Botanica: I discovered this site just a couple of weeks ago, and I’m excited about exploring its wealth of herbal information. Written by Carol Little, RH, a traditional herbalist in Toronto, Canada, the blog shares all things herbal – from recipes with herbs to medicinal herbal remedies to how you can make your own tinctures. Next year, I’ll be adding a medicinal herb garden to my homestead, so I’m sure this blog will be a major help in my endeavor.

The Shiksa in the Kitchen: Okay, this may not be a homesteading or gardening blog, but I like it all the same. Tori Avey has created a wonderful repository of kosher recipes using fresh ingredients – a must read for us Jewish homesteaders!

Old World Garden Farms: This is another site I recently discovered – via a Facebook friend’s link. I’m glad I wandered over! Mary & Jim share on this blog their journey of creating the farm life of their dreams. Included on the blog are photographs and updates of their progress, information on raising crops and saving seed, preserving and recipes, and more.

City Girl Farming: Kerrie Hubbard grew up in the country but now lives – and farms – in the city. For those of us who live in suburbia or on a small plot of land in the city, Kerrie shows us how to make it work. From gardening tips to chicken raising know-how to preserving harvests and recipes, this blog is sure to change your mind about what you actually CAN do on a small plot of land.

~~~~~

As I said, this list is not exhaustive. I have more I’ve recently discovered and I’m open to any suggestions for other good blogs. Comment below with some of your favorites. There’s no such thing as having too much knowledge!

If you enjoyed this post, please see My Favorite Homesteading Books, My Favorite Homesteading Websites, and My Favorite Gardening Channels on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

