Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 10/7/13

Another week has passed without rain, but some rain is coming from the Gulf today! We sure do need it! I’m harvesting figs almost daily now, and the peppers are still coming in. I made two batches of hot pepper jam this past weekend, preparing for holiday gift giving. That’s the good. The bad is that the pickle worms seem to be winning the battle. Here’s both the good and the bad in my garden.

HARVESTS:

Here’s my largest daily fig harvest – eleven of them:

Fig harvest ~ October 1

Celeste fig harvest ~ October 1

I harvested all this on Friday:

Pepper harvest October 4

Pepper harvest October 4

Harvest ~ October 4

Harvest ~ October 4

My first sweet peas of the season! I munched them raw. So good!

First sweet peas of the season

Sweet peas

FRUITING:

My key limes are still growing and marching towards maturity. So are two watermelons. And I have peas growing on most of my plants now.

Sweet peas in the sun

Sweet peas in the sun

Remember my tomato weed? It has its first tomato!

First fruit on my tomato "weed"

First fruit on my tomato “weed”

My fig tree continues to grow figs while the earlier fruit is ripening.

Celeste figs against the sky

Celeste figs against the sky

Celeste fig ripening

Celeste fig ripening

GROWING:

I had to stake my tomato “weed” this weekend. It’s growing like a weed!

Tomato "weed" staked

Tomato “weed” staked

My cilantro looks so healthy. It’s loving this cooler weather.

Cilantro

Cilantro

THE NOT SO GOOD:

My winter squash looks terrible – worse every day, as a matter of fact. I’m not sure what to do anymore. Pickle worms are eating my cucumbers, and they’ve attacked my squash. Even my pumpkins are starting to look sickly – except for this vine.

Long Island cheese pumpkin vine

Long Island cheese pumpkin vine

I’m thinking it’s not just bugs doing this to my squash.

Winter squash - very sick

Winter squash – very sick

If anyone has any ideas as to what is making my squash leaves turn brown and crinkly then die, please let me know. They were so beautiful once.

Isn’t gardening heart-breaking sometimes?

Leave a Reply

