Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 9/16/13

Here it is, the middle of September, and our temperatures are still in the low to mid-90s! We are about 10-15 degrees above average! I’ve planted so much that has not germinated; some crops I’ve planted twice. I guess the third time will be the charm, but I’m waiting for the weather to break. Then, I’ll replant lettuce, kale, and brussel sprouts. I also have to plant more turnips and beets to fill in what didn’t germinate. My carrots are still pending; they take close to three weeks to germinate. I still need to plant radishes (been waiting for cooler weather), and in two weeks it’ll be time to plant spinach, onions, and garlic. Gosh, I can’t wait for it to cool off! The good news is: there’s still fruit in my garden, including new ones.

HARVESTS:

I picked several things during the week, but neglected to take pictures. However, I had a large harvest yesterday and – after FIVE MONTHS of the plant struggling to thrive – I harvested my first Listada de Gandia eggplant! I can’t wait to taste it.

Listada de Gandia eggplant

Listada de Gandia eggplant

Harvest ~ September 15

Harvest ~ September 15

CHANGES:

I decided to try one last thing to save my raspberry canes. That is, IF they can be saved. I cut them all down. Yep – I pruned them to about six inches. If there IS any life left in them, I’m thinking I should see new shoots coming up within a month or so. If not, I’ll have to pull them up and replant in November (when we plant trees and fall plants here).

Raspberry canes pruned

Raspberry canes pruned

GROWING:

My snow peas are growing up the fence and up the teepees I made for the pots.

Snow peas

Snow peas

My three rocoto pepper plants are thriving. In fact, I’m starting to harvest them (when they turn deep red). This is my largest one. It has a very unique shape for a pepper plant – almost like a ground hugging tree.

Rocoto pepper plant

Rocoto pepper plant

FLOWERING:

My snap beans and my lima beans are flowering, so beans are sure to follow soon.

Black Valentine green bean buds

Black Valentine green bean buds

Henderson lima bean flowers

Henderson lima bean flowers

My winter squash and pumpkins are growing outside the raised bed and starting to crawl down between the other beds! They’re loaded with buds and flowers starting to open.

Waltham Butternut squash flower

Waltham Butternut squash flower

I found a female flower on my Long Island Cheese pumpkin. If it gets fertilized, it’ll be my first pumpkin.

Long Island cheese pumpkin female flower

Long Island cheese pumpkin female flower

FRUITING:

Yes, I have a few newly planted crops that are starting to fruit. My cucumbers are loaded with flowers, but yesterday I noticed the first babies.

Russian pickling cucumbers

Russian pickling cucumbers

I have a couple of winter squash, too.

Waltham butternut squash

Waltham butternut squash

Spaghetti squash

Spaghetti squash

Considering the issues we’ve had this year – first, too much rain; then too much heat; now too much heat with too little rain – my Sanctuary Garden is hanging in there and trying to produce for me. I’m sure things will start popping up quickly once we have a break in the heat and get a good rain storm.

What are you contending with in your garden?

Leave a Reply

