Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 9/9/13

It’s been an extremely busy week in the garden this week! (So busy, I haven’t had time to plant the new yellow mums I bought for the urns by my front door, so they’re still sitting in my kitchen window.) First, I planted about 200 turnips, half Purple Top and half Golden Globe. I also applied organic fertilizer to all my new crops and seeded beds. In addition to weeding and harvesting (continual garden chores), I had to water my garden every day because we’ve had less than an inch of rain in the past two weeks. (First, so much rain, now not enough. Welcome to the south.) Then, I spent time in the kitchen: drying dill and oregano, dehydrating 6 pounds of bananas and 6 pounds of apples, and making six pints of hot pepper jelly. Whew! I need to tell my boss I don’t have time to come to work. Haha. Well, I did take time to take pictures of my garden to share with you.

HARVESTS:

The peppers have definitely slowed down production due to the heat. (Yes, we’re still in the 90s every day!) But I have so many plants (two beds full) that I’m picking dozens every week. But I’m also starting to harvest cherry tomatoes again. And take a look at that fig and watermelon!

Harvest ~ September 6

Harvest ~ September 6

Along with my dill and oregano, I harvested my first rocoto peppers. There is Peruvian ceviche with rocoto sauce on the menu this week!

Harvest ~ September 7

Harvest ~ September 7

SAD NEWS:

It appears my raspberry canes are gone. No fall harvest for me. 😦  I’m going to try one more thing before pulling them all up and starting again. I’ll cut down the canes to a few inches above the ground and see if any new growth appears. If nothing happens, then I’ll pull up the canes, roots and all, and replant in March. That would mean no harvest until next fall — so this last batch of raspberry preserves needs to last!

Raspberry canes dying

Raspberry canes dying

SEEDLINGS:

I replanted my leaf lettuce, brussel sprouts, and kale; I’m still waiting to see seedlings from the replants. I do have a couple of kale that sprouted the first time around. Here’s one of them.

Scotch Curled kale ~ 21 days post planting

Scotch Curled kale ~ 21 days post planting

I just think it’s been too hot for the fall crops to germinate and/or grow well.

I will say I’m pleased to see the beets and turnips coming up! I’ve got Early Wonder beets up and Purple Top turnips. The other variety of each should be up soon.

Early Wonder beet seedlings ~ 6 days post planting

Early Wonder beet seedlings ~ 6 days post planting

Purple Top turnip seedlings ~ 6 days post planting

Purple Top turnip seedlings ~ 6 days post planting

GROWING:

Remember those tomato “weeds” I wrote about? Well, I decided to let a couple grow to see what would happen. Here’s the biggest one. (I wonder if there will be time to get any tomatoes from it before frost? It’d be nice to see what kind of tomato this is.)

Tomato seedling

Tomato seedling

My cucumbers are starting to climb the trellis, so I should see flowers soon.

Boston pickling cucumbers climbing trellis

Boston pickling cucumbers climbing trellis

My key lime tree has over a dozen limes on it now, and it’s beginning to blossom again!

Key lime blossoms

Key lime blossoms

Key limes

Key limes

My winter squash and pumpkin vines are beginning to grow out of the bed, especially the Black futsu and spaghetti squash.

Black Futsu & Spaghetti squash vines ~ 4 weeks post planting

Black Futsu & Spaghetti squash vines ~ 4 weeks post planting

The squash & pumpkins are beginning to grow buds, too.

Long Island Cheese pumpkin buds

Long Island Cheese pumpkin buds

I harvested my last red watermelon this week; but I see flowers, so I might get some more before frost. I have three white watermelons growing. And yesterday, I discovered three lemon drop melons! (And I was going to pull those vines up because I haven’t seen any fruit in weeks.)

Lemon drop melon

Lemon drop melon

Lemon drop melons (see the newest one on the bottom)

Lemon drop melons (see the newest one on the bottom)

What’s been happening in your garden this week?

Leave a Reply

