I’m a Real Farmer Now

Well, it’s official. I’m a real farmer now. I’m saving my own seed, AND I’ve already sown a new crop from the seed I saved. While I was planting my lima beans a week or so ago, I ran out of seed and still had several more rows to plant. So, I grabbed my basket of dried lima bean pods (from the spring planting) and shucked enough to plant the last few rows. And guess what? My seed had a substantially higher germination rate than the seed I bought! Yee-ha! Just call me Farmer Ro!

(Above photo credit: http://www.people-clipart.com)

Here are the seeds I’ve saved this year so far:

Henderson lima bean seeds

Henderson lima bean seeds

Icicle radish seeds

Icicle radish seeds

Mini red bell pepper seeds

Mini red bell pepper seeds

I already know my lima bean seeds are viable. In a few weeks, I’ll find out if the icicle radish seeds will germinate. The pepper seeds will have to wait until February (when I start my seedlings indoors).

I’m just so excited to be adding these packets of seeds to my store bought collection:

My own seeds

My own seeds

Are you saving seeds from your garden crops?

Leave a Reply

