Garden Bounty ~ 6/23/13

It’s been an incredible week for harvesting in my Sanctuary Garden! Despite two rain storms that brought a total of 3.3″ of rain, I was able to get out and reap baskets of goodies every day but one (the extremely rainy day). I had so much, I thought it’d be fun to share with you the tallies for the week as well as the pictures.

I’m amazed at the number of raspberries I’ve been harvesting. The picture above is one day’s harvest, and I’ve been picking about that amount every day this week. Grand total? About five or six pints! Most of them are now in my freezer, awaiting raspberry preserve time.

My tomatoes are finally ripening. Here are my first roma and blue tomatoes. (Not blue because they’re getting so much sun.)

Roma & blue tomato harvest

Roma & blue tomato harvest

The other crop that has me overwhelmed is pepperoncini. I picked 120 of them this week! Time for drying, freezing, and pickling.

Here’s what else my garden gave me this week: 45 cucumbers (green, white, pickling), 56 beans, 1 zucchini, 68 tomatoes (roma, blue, cherry), and 11 peppers (green bell, jalapeno, cubanelle). I made stuffed cubanelle peppers, and salads with all my own ingredients. And today, I’m going to pickle my pepperoncini and make kosher dill pickle spears.

Well, here’s my week in pictures.

Sunday:

Sunday's harvest ~ zucchini, cucumbers, tomatoes, raspberries

zucchini, cucumbers, tomatoes, raspberries

Monday:

Monday's harvest ~ cucumbers, tomatoes, pepperoncini, raspberries

cucumbers, tomatoes, pepperoncini, raspberries

Tuesday:

cucumbers, cubanelle peppers, tomato, raspberries

cucumbers, cubanelle peppers, tomato, raspberries

Wednesday – it rained all day, but I got a double bounty the next day.

Thursday:

cucumbers, tomatoes, pepperoncini, jalapenos

cucumbers, tomatoes, pepperoncini, jalapenos

(While trimming my tomato plants, I knocked off a few green tomatoes. I kept them to make some fried green tomatoes!)

green tomatoes, snap beans, raspberries

green tomatoes, snap beans, raspberries

Friday:

peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes, raspberries

peppers, cucumbers, tomatoes, raspberries

Saturday:

Raspberries

Raspberries

What have you harvested from your garden this week?

2 comments on “Garden Bounty ~ 6/23/13

Leave a Reply

