Garden Bounty ~ 6/16/13

This has been a great week of harvesting here in my Sanctuary Garden! I was almost overwhelmed with lettuce, cucumbers, peppers, and snap beans. We’re eating lots of salads, and I pickled beans and cucumbers. Yesterday, I made almost a dozen stuffed peppers. And more are coming. I picked my first cherry tomato yesterday, and a few Mortgage Lifter, blue and Roma tomatoes are almost ready! This is my favorite part of gardening.

On Monday, I harvested so many beans – I had to pickle them! A few cucumbers, pepperoncini (the obviously hybrid ones – color of pepperoncini but shaped like a bell pepper with a combined taste), and some of my raspberries.

Green snap & wax beans harvest

Green snap & wax beans harvest

Green & pickling & white cucumbers, pepperoncini, and raspberries harvest

Green & pickling & white cucumbers, pepperoncini, and raspberries harvest

Tuesday was a banner day for cucumbers. My squash aren’t producing well…again. I don’t see signs of the feared squash borer, but they stopped flowering for some reason. I valued this one yellow squash!

Pickling & green cucumbers and yellow squash

Pickling & green cucumbers and yellow squash harvest

Wednesday, I harvested enough lettuce to fill my basket! Amazing harvest for the middle of June, I think.

Red Sails & Black Seeded Simpson lettuce harvest

Red Sails & Black Seeded Simpson lettuce harvest

Thursday was a great day for beans, peppers, and cucumbers. My raspberries are ripening daily, and I’m averaging a couple dozen a day now.

Pickling & green cucumbers, green bell peppers, raspberries, green snap beans, and wax beans harvest

Pickling & green cucumbers, green bell peppers, raspberries, green snap beans, and wax beans harvest

Yesterday was pepper harvest day, obviously! Green bells, cubanelles, and pepperoncini (the hybrid looking ones). More cucumbers and raspberries, too. And, my first Riesentraube cherry tomato!

Green bell peppers, pepperoncini peppers, pickling & green & white cucumbers, raspberries, and Riesentraube tomato harvest

Green bell & cubanelle & pepperoncini peppers, pickling & green & white cucumbers, raspberries, and Riesentraube tomato harvest

The dark green cucumbers in the picture above are Long Green Improved cucumbers, an heirloom variety. I pick them before they’re fully grown then slice them for breakfast (skins on). They’re crisp and have an intense cucumber flavor.

Next week, I should be able to harvest the tomatoes that are starting to ripen now. Hopefully, I’ll have some zucchini and squash blossoms for a future harvest of that. I miss my summer squash!

The summer solstice is next week, and my garden is showing it. What are you harvesting from your garden?

2 comments on “Garden Bounty ~ 6/16/13

  1. I live in a townhome. My garden is in pots and I always have garden envy this time of year. About a month ago a Junco bird decided to build a nest right in the middle of my lettuce bowl. That was a real gift – even though I couldn’t pick the lettuce. Even if your garden is in a bowl, it still brings unexpected joy!

    • Wow. I lived in apartment most of my adult life. (I just bought this house two years ago.) I tried container gardening at the apartment here in Charleston, and kids would steal the fruit before it was even ripe. Not even because they wanted to eat it, but just to steal. Then, one day I came home and found all my pots gone. It was the first – and last – time I tried container gardening. Very sad. When I started house hunting, my number one MUST HAVE was a large, sun-filled yard for gardening!! I saw this house and knew I was home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

