Key Lime Guacamole

This is my first year growing tomatillos. In fact, I’ve never seen a tomatillo outside of the grocery store – until now. I have my first few fruits starting to grow. They look like paper lanterns! Well, I’m so excited about being able to harvest my own tomatillos, all I can think about is using them to make guacamole. I love guacamole, and I’ve tried several recipes. But I wasn’t truly happy until I experimented with a recipe or two and came up with my own perfect mix of ingredients. Soon, I will be able to harvest most of the ingredients from my own garden. If you’re looking for a guacamole with a little more personality, try my

KEY LIME GUACAMOLE

  • 3 large avocados, peeled, pitted, and mashed
  • 2 Tablespoons key lime juice (fresh or bottled – though fresh is tangier!)
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup diced red onion
  • 2 tomatillos, diced
  • 3 Tablespoons fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, crushed then diced
  • Pinch or two of cayenne pepper

1. Mix avocados, key lime juice, and salt well.

2. Add remaining ingredients and mix until smooth.

3. Cover bowl and refrigerate for a minimum of 1 hour to allow the flavors to meld.

Serve with tortilla chips or toasted pita.

2 comments on “Key Lime Guacamole

Leave a Reply

