Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 5/27/13

This Memorial Day weekend has been hot and sunny, and I got a lot done in the garden ~ fertilizing, weeding, pruning, and harvesting. The warm weather, along with the rain we got a few days ago, have caused growth spurts in every bed! Peppers, tomatoes, and beans are fruiting. Eggplant, beans, cucumbers, pumpkin, and squash are flowering. The picture above is a double-blossom male zucchini flower. I have never seen that before.

THIS WEEK’S HARVEST:

Even though it’s late spring, I still harvested several things this week. I harvested all my purple potatoes and one bucket of my fingerling potatoes. They were smaller than I thought they’d be and I didn’t get as many as I was hoping for, but it’s not bad for my first time growing potatoes.

Purple potato harvest ~ one bucket's worth

Purple potato harvest ~ one bucket’s worth

Fingerling potato harvest ~ one bucket's worth

Fingerling potato harvest ~ one bucket’s worth

I also harvested all my garlic ~ over five dozen bulbs! It’s now braided and hanging in my kitchen to cure.

Garlic harvest

Garlic harvest

I harvested the rest of the Red Creole onions, but left five in the ground to produce seed for next year.

Red Creole onions in a basket

Red Creole onions in a basket

I pulled up some of my watermelon radishes. They were large and juicy!

Watermelon radish harvest ~ end of May

Watermelon radish harvest ~ end of May

I can’t believe how well my lettuce is growing…here…in South Carolina…in May!

Black Seeded Simpson lettuce harvest ~ in May

Black Seeded Simpson lettuce harvest ~ in May

My white onions are ready to harvest, so I’ll pull them up next weekend.

Texas Granex onions ready to harvest

Texas Granex onions ready to harvest

FRUITING:

I have tomatoes all over my roma, mortgage lifter, black krim, and blue tomato plants. Today, I actually found some fruit hiding among the leaves on my Riesentraube (cherry) tomato plants.

Riesentraube tomatoes

Riesentraube tomatoes

I saw my first green bean the other day; soon I’ll have dozens!

Black Valentine green bean

Black Valentine green bean

There are several small butternut squash on my plants.

Waltham butternut squash

Waltham butternut squash

One of my pepperoncini plants is producing very strange fruit. I believe the company I got the seed from inadvertently packaged seed that had been cross-pollinated with bell peppers. I have fruit that is pepperoncini color in the shape of a bell pepper! The fruit starts out normally, but then widens into a bell pepper shape. Funky looking, isn’t it?

Pepperoncini shaped like a bell pepper

Pepperoncini shaped like a bell pepper

NEW FLOWERS IN THE GARDEN:

My spaghetti squash and pumpkin are starting to put out male flowers.

Spaghetti squash male flower

Spaghetti squash male flower

I have two Peruvian peppers in my garden. The rocoto peppers are starting to bud. They’ll soon open up to be beautiful, deep purple flowers.

Rocoto pepper flower buds

Rocoto pepper flower buds

I have quite a few buds on my Black Beauty eggplant. (By the way, the double bud I mentioned in an earlier post soon fell off, so I’ll never know what a Siamese twin eggplant looks like.)

Black Beauty eggplant flowers

Black Beauty eggplant flowers

GROWING:

My chard seedlings are almost ready to thin out (and eat).

Chard seedlings

Chard seedlings

My Tom Thumb lettuce is ready to harvest. I ate a head this weekend ~ crisp and yummy! Red Sails lettuce is around the Tom Thumb and is just mature enough for harvesting the leaves.

Tom Thumb & Red Sails lettuce

Tom Thumb & Red Sails lettuce

The icicle radishes I planted among my squash and cucumbers are bolting. It’s amazing how tall they are!

Icicle radish bolting

Icicle radish bolting

Finally, my watermelons and melons are actually growing. I guess they needed warmer weather.

Cantaloupe

Cantaloupe

Malali red watermelon (an Israeli cultivar)

Have you planted your spring garden yet? Harvesting anything? Comment below and let me know what’s happening in your garden!

Leave a Reply

