Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 5/20/13

It’s been a wonderful week here at my Sanctuary Garden. The weather hasn’t been too hot – in the upper 70s to lower 80s most of the week. The sky has threatened rain several times, but never kept its forecasted promise. So, I’ve had to break out the hose and water. At least the clouds have kept it cooler. The garden is filling in and looking lush! Things are growing, fruit is popping, and flowers are blossoming (like my hydrangeas pictured above).

FLOWERING:

Besides my hydrangeas, I’ve got some new flowers in the garden. The icicle radishes that I planted around my squash and cucumbers to ward off the squash/cucumber bugs are now flowering.

Icicle radish flower

Icicle radish flower

I’ve been harvesting my red creole onions a few at a time because I love the blooms! However, I think I need to pull them all now because they’re starting to get a little woody in the center. I’ve left them in the ground too long, I think. So, here’s the last look at the flowers.

Red creole onion blossoms

Red creole onion blossoms

My green beans are flowering now. Get ready for the snap beans!

Green bean flowers

Green bean flowers

My Black Beauty eggplant is budding. What I found interesting is this double bud (will be two flowers in the same calyx) – something I’ve never seen before! I’m looking forward to seeing how the fruit grows from this.

Black Beauty eggplant double blossom

Black Beauty eggplant double bud

Although it’s not flowering, my moonflowers are popping through the soil.

Moonflower seedling

Moonflower seedling

FRUITING:

I’m getting so excited because I’m harvesting strawberries and will soon harvest raspberries, cucumbers, zucchini, yellow squash, tomatoes, and peppers. And, most exciting, I have my very first fig buds on my fig tree!

Fig bud (baby fig)

Fig bud (baby fig)

Sequoia Everbearing Strawberries

Sequoia Everbearing Strawberries

Raspberries fruiting

Russian pickling cucumber fruiting

Russian pickling cucumber fruiting

Zucchini

Zucchini fruiting

Yellow squash fruiting

Yellow squash fruiting

Green bell pepper

Green bell pepper

Pepperoncini

Pepperoncini

And lots of tomatoes…tomatoes, tomatoes….  I thought I was going to lose my Black Krim tomato due to all the rain we had shortly after I transplanted. But it’s coming back, and growing tomatoes. Look at the creases in this heirloom variety.

Black Krim tomatoes

Black Krim tomatoes

These are going to be huge!

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes

Mortgage Lifter tomatoes

I have clusters of these paste tomatoes…time to get some more Mason jars!

Roma tomatoes

Roma tomatoes

I also have fruit on my blue and Riesentraube (cherry) tomato plants.

It’s almost Memorial Day here in the South, and I am actually still harvesting lettuce! My Black Seeded Simpson lettuce (in picture below) is ready. Red Sails is growing. And I just planted Red Romaine the other day. (I’m waiting to see if it will germinate; hopefully, the soil isn’t too warm.)

Black Seeded Simpson lettuce among my peppers

Black Seeded Simpson lettuce among my peppers

What’s growing in your garden? Comment below and share!

Leave a Reply

