Bluebirds in the House

I was outside most of the time this past week, harvesting my winter crops and planting my spring crops. While in the garden, I noticed a beautiful male Eastern Bluebird checking out my birdhouse more than once. I hung that house last spring, and it’s never had a nest. Just a one time visitor last year, which happened to be my first sighting of an Eastern Bluebird (ever). A male had checked out the house, but he didn’t stay. When I saw the male this week, I wondered if he were the same one and if he would choose my house this year.

After the male visited a few times over the course of a couple of days, the female arrived yesterday! Hubby brought the wife to check out the house he found. Always a good sign!

Eastern Bluebird couple in my tree

Eastern Bluebird couple in my tree

Today, the female spent a lot of time at the house – outside AND inside.

Female Eastern Bluebird ~ checking out my birdhouse

Female Eastern Bluebird ~ checking out my birdhouse

I think she likes it!!

Female Eastern Bluebird ~ inside my birdhouse

Female Eastern Bluebird ~ inside my birdhouse

I’m hoping this is a permanent move for this bluebird couple. I’m looking forward to some baby bluebirds in the house!

2 comments on “Bluebirds in the House

Leave a Reply

