Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 3/27/13

Well, things have been busy at the homestead, so my weekly update is a little behind schedule. This gardener had to concentrate on spring cleaning INSIDE the home, leaving less time to spend outside in the garden. (Ask me which I prefer doing?) It’s just as well, however. The weather has been 10-15 degrees below average for this time of year, so I still haven’t been able to plant. The good news, though, is that I have seen some new signs of life and reaped a few harvests.

THE NEW:

My strawberry blooms have survived the last two frosts, and I now have baby strawberries!

Baby strawberries ~ 2nd year plants

Baby strawberries ~ 2nd year plants

New Strawberry

New Strawberry

MOST CHANGED:

My potatoes in the pots are growing quickly! Most have grown above the top of my containers, so I will be covering them with more soil in the next day or two – to the top of the containers. I will take pictures and include them in my next update this weekend.

SEEDLINGS:

Earlier in the week, I started the hardening off process with my tomato, pepper, and artichoke seedlings.

Seedlings in the shade day 1

Seedlings in the shade day 1

Seedlings in the shade Day 3

Seedlings in the shade Day 3

However, after 3 days in the shade (increased a couple hours a day), the weather turned extremely windy and cold. I was just about to start them on morning sun when I had to stop putting them outside. The weather has barely made it into the low 50s during the day, so I’ve kept them under my grow lights. I’ll have to start the process all over again starting this weekend. They’re starting to outgrow the cups I transplanted them in, so I’m anxious to get them into the ground!

OUT IN THE GARDEN:

Things are growing very well out in the garden. The application of 15-0-15 fertilizer was just what the soil needed! I had several good harvests this week.

I harvested a good bit of all my lettuce (Black Seeded Simpson, Red Sails, Red Romaine), as well as my arugula. This was the harvest in the beginning of the week.

Lettuce harvest

Lettuce harvest

This is my lettuce harvest only three days later.

Lettuce harvest ~ same week!

Lettuce harvest ~ same week!

I also harvested a large batch of kale, some of which I kept fresh and some I made into kale chips.

Kale harvest

Kale harvest

Some of my purple top turnips were ready for harvest this weekend, and my golden globe turnips are getting fatter under the soil.

Purple Top turnip harvest

Purple Top turnip harvest

We’re due for a few more nights of temperatures in the mid-30s, but I think we may finally get some spring weather. Good thing – because my seeds are screaming to be planted!

Leave a Reply

