Sanctuary Gardener Update ~ 2/4/13

Although it’s winter and the temperatures have dropped again here, there’s still a lot going on in my garden – both inside and out. Three days ago, I planted potatoes – Yukon Gold, fingerlings, and purple potatoes. With a total of 34 plants, I’m expecting quite the spud harvest this spring! My winter crops are growing and my seedlings are coming up under the grow lights.

New kid on the block: I have my first snow pea peeking through the soil. Can’t wait for the stir fry. (Okay, I know, I’ve got a while to wait.)

First snow pea ~ 12 days post planting

First snow pea ~ 12 days post planting

All my winter crops now have secondary leaves (or more). Growth slowed when our temperatures went from the record-breaking highs in the upper 70s to the more normal 50s, but I think things should pick up. A little fish emulsion this week should help, too.

My kale is starting to grow well. When I grew it in the fall, it started slowly then took off. If they grow the same way now, I hope to start harvesting kale leaves in a couple weeks!

Kale ~ 29 days post planting

Kale ~ 29 days post planting

Carrots are slow to germinate, but both my beds of carrots are filling with seedlings. A few are starting to get their secondary leaves.

St. Valery carrot ~ 29 days post planting

St. Valery carrot ~ 29 days post planting

My spinach is growing well. It seems the Giant Noble variety is growing a little more quickly than the Bloomsdale Longstanding variety.

Giant Noble Spinach ~ 29 days post planting

Giant Noble Spinach ~ 29 days post planting

Unfortunately, my escarole never germinated. Nothing came up. Not sure why, but it happens sometimes. It’s too late to replant, so I’ll have to wait until the fall for that crop.

My radish bed is close to filled. The daikon radishes (shown on the bottom of the picture) didn’t germinate well for some reason. But I have a few. At least I can try it to see if it’s something I’d like to grow again. The ones in the middle of the picture are the Easter Egg radishes; I had about 95% germination on that. On the top of the picture are the watermelon radishes, planted further apart than the others because I like them big. A few didn’t come up, but I still got quite a bunch!

Radish bed ~ 29 days post planting

Radish bed ~ 29 days post planting

My turnips are starting to grow larger. The purple top turnips germinated more quickly and are growing faster than the golden globe turnips.

Purple top turnips ~ 29 days post planting

Purple top turnips ~ 29 days post planting

Golden Globe turnips ~ 29 days post planting

Most of my beets germinated and are now getting their secondary leaves. I thinned them out this weekend. As a note, beets are in the same family as spinach. If you look at their initial leaves (the long, thin ones) you’ll see they look the same as the initial leaves of the spinach in the picture above.

 

Detroit Red beets ~ 27 days post planting

Blood Red Turnip Beet ~ 27 days post planting

My arugula is growing well. Soon to join a salad!

Arugula ~ 27 days post planting

Arugula ~ 27 days post planting

Some of my lettuce is growing faster than others. The red varieties (Red Romaine and Red Sails) seem to be growing more quickly than the green varieties (Black Seeded Simpson and Tom Thumb). I find that strange.

Red Sails lettuce ~ 27 days post planting

Red Sails lettuce ~ 27 days post planting

Red Romaine lettuce ~ 27 days post planting

Tom Thumb lettuce ~ 27 days post planting

Tom Thumb lettuce ~ 27 days post planting

My strawberries are putting forth more flowers and buds.

Strawberry buds

Strawberry buds

I started my celery this weekend. It’s so easy to do. Just cut off the bottom of the celery you buy in the store and put into a dish of water, cut side up. Place in a sunny window or under grow lights. 

Celery start

Celery start

My seedlings are popping through the soil, growing, and starting to get secondary leaves! I planted them two weeks ago, and the heating mats and grow lights are already proving their worth.

In this picture, the top plants are various peppers, and the taller plants towards the bottom are my tomatillo and tomato varieties.

Peppers & tomatoes ~ 13 days post planting

Peppers & tomatoes ~ 13 days post planting

Here are my herbs. The larger leafed ones are basil. My summer savory, flat parsley, and curly parsley haven’t germinated yet. Hmm…

Herbs ~ 13 days post planting

Herbs ~ 13 days post planting

In this picture, the artichoke are the very large seedlings at the top, with eggplant to the right of them. Various peppers fill the rest of the tray.

Artichoke, eggplant, peppers ~ 13 days post planting

Artichoke, eggplant, peppers ~ 13 days post planting

It seems flowers take much longer to germinate than vegetables. My Amish Cockscomb are the only exception; they germinated in a couple days. (The empty cells have poppy seeds in them.)

Amish Cockscomb ~ 13 days post planting

Amish Cockscomb ~ 13 days post planting

I finally have some begonias coming through the soil!

Begonias ~ 13 days post planting

Begonias ~ 13 days post planting

My carnations got a slow start, but they seem to be growing now.

Carnations ~ 13 days post planting

Carnations ~ 13 days post planting

Dianthus started coming through the soil days ago, but they seem to be sleeping!

Dianthus ~ 13 days post planting

Dianthus ~ 13 days post planting

And I finally have some Rainbow coleus coming up.

Rainbow coleus ~ 13 days post planting

Rainbow coleus ~ 13 days post planting

The only sad thing that happened in my garden this week is that I lost some asparagus spears. I neglected to cover them one night when the temperature dipped below 32. I had six spears almost ready to harvest, and the frost destroyed them. Instead of ending up on my plate, they ended up in my compost pile. Live and learn, eh?

Connect with me on Facebook and let me know what’s happening in YOUR garden!

Leave a Reply

